Adilabad (Urdu: عادل آباد‎,Telugu: ఆదిలాబాదు), is a town and a municipality in Adilabad district in the state of Andhra Pradesh, India. It has a population of 108,233 (agglomeration 2,58,233) (2006 census). It is the headquarters of the district of the same name.Mavala a village is merged into adilabad municipality.


Adilabad derives its name from the erstwhile ruler of Bijapur, Mohammed Adil Shah. It is the northern most district of Nizam state of the Deccan region.

Historically, rahim has been home to a variety of cultures. Owing to its position at the border of central and southern India, it has been ruled by North Indian dynasties like the Mauryas and the Mughals and South Indian dynasties like the Satavahanas and the Chalukyas. The current culture of the district incorporates significant elements of the neighboring Marathi culture into the native Telugu culture. However a multicultural society exists here with Bengali, Malayali, Rajasthani and Gujarati people living in harmony.


Adilabad has an average elevation of 264 metres (866 feet). Adilabad district also consists of many landscapes like Kuntala waterfalls, Sahyadri mountains, rivers like the Godavari, Penaganga, Pranahitha, etc. The district is also famous for the temple town Basara, where the shrine of goddess Saraswati exists. People from the entire nation visit this place. Basara is located about 1 km away from the river Godavari.


  • St. Joseph's Convent High School
  • Basara IIIT International College
  • Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Sanjay Gandhi Polytechnic College
  • 32 Andhra NCC Battalion, etc


  • Jama Masjid, Adilabad
  • Madina Masjid, Adilabad
  • Gulzar Masjid, Adilabad


  • Basara Saraswati Temple, Basara
  • Satyanarayanaswamy Temple, Jainad
  • Bugga Rajeswara Temple
  • Hanuman Temple, Kokasmannur
  • Renukamatha temple, sai nagar, Adilabad
  • Nagoba Temple, Keshlapur, Indervelly


SIRI EMU FARM is located in adilabd just 5 kilometers away from the town ,its first of its kind to rear Australian birds ,its a substitute to regular traditional form of agriculture. National Highway 7 (the largest NH in India) passes through Adilabad making the road transport most easy. It is well connected to rest of India by road. Hyderabad is 280 km from here.


As of 2011 India census, Adilabad had a population of 1,39,103. Males constitute 51% of the population and females 49%. Adilabad has an average literacy rate of 80.51%, higher than the national average of 74.04.5%; with 88.18% of the males and 72.73% of females literate. 14% of the population is under 6 years of age.

Urdu is the Native Language of Adilabad while Telugu is the administrative language. The other language spoken is Marathi as Maharastra state is neighborhood to Adilabad. The town has a predominant Muslim population with a considerable Hindu population. It is one of the richest districts of Andhra Pradesh, containing 20% of state's wealth. About 75% of the district is covered with thick tropical moist deciduous forests, the second largest district in terms of forest coverage, next only to Khammam.

Parliamentary Constituency

Adilabad is a Loksabha Constituency.

List of Elected Members:

  • 1952 - Gangi Reddy K
  • 1957 - K. Ashanna
  • 1962 - Narayan G Reddy
  • 1967 and 1971 - P. Ganga Reddy
  • 1977 and 1980 - G. Narsimha Reddy
  • 1984 - C. Madhava Reddi
  • 1989 - P. Narsa Reddy
  • 1991 - Allola Indrakaran Reddy
  • 1995, 1998 and 1999 - Dr. Samudrala Venugopal Chari
  • 2004 - Madhusudhan Reddy Takkala
  • 2008 - Allola Indrakaran Reddy
  • 2009 - Ramesh Rathod

Assembly Constituency

Adilabad is a Legislative assembly constituency in Andhra Pradesh. There are 181,966 registered voters in Adilabad constituency in 1999 elections.

List of Elected Members:[2]

  • 1952 - Sirga Daji Shankar Rao (Communist Party of India)
  • 1957 - Rangnath Rao (PDF)
  • 1962 - Vithal Rao - Independent
  • 1967 - K. Ramkishtoo (Communist Party of India)
  • 1972 - Masood Ahmed - INC
  • 1978 - Chilukuri Ramachandra Reddy (Independent)
  • 1983 - Chilukuri Vaman Reddy TDP
  • 1985 - Chilukuri Ramachandra Reddy INC
  • 1989 - Chilukuri Ramachandra Reddy INC
  • 1994 - Chilukuri Vaman Reddy TDP
  • 1999 - Padala Bhumanna - TDP
  • 2004 - Chilukuri Ramachandra Reddy INC
  • 2009 - Jogu Ramanna - TDP
  • 2012- Jogu Ramanna - TRS

Famous Persons

  • SAMALA SADHASIVA (sahitya academy awards)
  • MURALIDHARA .B (writer, Agricultural Officer)


Calendar Calendar

31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 1 2 3 4 5
There are no events on this day.
Time Title Type  
There are no events on this day.
Showing 0 results.

Google Maps Google Maps

Other Links Other Links

Visit Other Panchayats Visit Other Panchayats

Go to:     Ministry of Panchayati Raj

Related Details Related Details

General Profile of Panchayat
Elected Member Details
Panchayat Official Details
Committee Details
Action Plan Report
Execution Status of ActionPlan
Annual Receipt and Payment
Monthly Reconciliation Statement
Inventory Stock Register
Day Book Report
Ledger report
Register of advance
Opening Balance
List of Assets
Minutes Of Meeting
Upcoming Meetings
Trainings Conducted
Trainings Attended by Officials
Photo Uploaded through mAsset
Work Check List
Draft Plan Report